Death Of Kings

By (author) Cornwell, Bernard
Expédié entre 2 et 4 jours
By (author) Cornwell, Bernard
Short description/annotation

The sixth novel in Bernard Cornwell’s epic and bestselling series on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg.

BBC2’s major Autumn 2015 TV show THE LAST KINGDOM is based on the first two books in the series.


Description

The sixth novel in Bernard Cornwell’s epic and bestselling series on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg.

BBC2’s major Autumn 2015 TV show THE LAST KINGDOM is based on the first two books in the series.

Alfred, the great king, is said to be dying. Rivals for his succession are poised to tear the kingdom apart. The country Alfred has worked thirty years to build is about to disintegrate.

Uhtred, the King’s warrior, Viking born but Saxon bred, wants more than anything else to go and fight to reclaim his stolen Northumbrian inheritance. But he knows that if he deserts the King’s cause, Alfred’s dream – and indeed the very future of the English nation – will very likely vanish.

Death of Kings is an outstanding novel by a master storyteller of how England was made – and very nearly lost.


Review quote

Praise for THE BURNING LAND:

‘Cornwell draws a fascinating picture of England as it might have been before anything like England existed’
The Times

Praise for AZINCOURT:

''This is a magnificent and gory work'' Daily Mail

''The historical blockbuster of the year'' Evening Standard

‘If Bernard Cornwell was born to write one book, this is it. No other historical novelist has acquired such a mastery of the minutiae of warfare in centuries past’ Daily Telegraph

‘A runaway success’ Observer

Praise for Bernard Cornwell:

‘The characterisation, as ever, is excellent…And one can only admire the little touches that bring the period to life. He can also claim to be a true poet of both the horror and the glory of war’ Sunday Telegraph

This is typical Cornwell, meticulously researched, massive in scope, brilliant in execution’ News of the World

‘He’s called a master story-teller. Really he’s cleverer than that’ Telegraph


Biographical note

Bernard Cornwell was born in London, raised in Essex, and now lives mainly in the USA with his wife. In addition to the hugely successful Sharpe novels, Bernard Cornwell is the author of Azincourt, The Fort, the Starbuck Chronicles, the Warlord trilogy, the Grail Quest series and his current series, the Warrior Chronicles.


Feature

• The legend of King Alfred is one that will inspire readers around the world and Cornwell’s retelling is sure to become the definitive version for a generation of readers

• Perfect for readers of AZINCOURT, this novel packs in huge history, tortured heroes and uncovers what legends are truly made of

• With his extensive historical knowledge and experience as a BBC broadcaster, Bernard is set to become the definitive historical commentator of his generation

Competition: dunstan;emperor;imperium;cicero;Empire;pillars of the earth;column of fire;Kingsbridge;darien;shardlake;falcon;sparta;lancelot. by Wilbur Smith;Iggulden;Lee Child;Simon Scarrow;Ken Follett;patrick o’brian;c.s.;cs forester;c.j.;cj sansom;robert harris;Cornwall;George r r martin;robert harris;lee child.


Plus d'infos
Auteur By (author) Cornwell, Bernard
Date de publication 24 mai 2012
EAN 9780007331802
Contributeurs Cornwell, Bernard
Éditeur Harpercollins
Langues Anglais
Pays de Publication Royaume-Uni
Largeur 129 mm
Hauteur 198 mm
Epaisseur 25 mm
Format du Produit Couverture souple
Disponible à Global
Poids 0.280000
Rédigez votre propre commentaire
Seuls les utilisateurs enregistrés peuvent écrire des commentaires. S’il vous plaît Connectez-vous ou créez un compte
Nous avons trouvé d'autres produits que vous pourriez aimer !