Death Of Kings

Ships between 2 and 4 days
By (author) Cornwell, Bernard
Short description/annotation

The sixth novel in Bernard Cornwell’s epic and bestselling series on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg.

BBC2’s major Autumn 2015 TV show THE LAST KINGDOM is based on the first two books in the series.


Description

The sixth novel in Bernard Cornwell’s epic and bestselling series on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg.

BBC2’s major Autumn 2015 TV show THE LAST KINGDOM is based on the first two books in the series.

Alfred, the great king, is said to be dying. Rivals for his succession are poised to tear the kingdom apart. The country Alfred has worked thirty years to build is about to disintegrate.

Uhtred, the King’s warrior, Viking born but Saxon bred, wants more than anything else to go and fight to reclaim his stolen Northumbrian inheritance. But he knows that if he deserts the King’s cause, Alfred’s dream – and indeed the very future of the English nation – will very likely vanish.

Death of Kings is an outstanding novel by a master storyteller of how England was made – and very nearly lost.


Review quote

Praise for THE BURNING LAND:

‘Cornwell draws a fascinating picture of England as it might have been before anything like England existed’
The Times

Praise for AZINCOURT:

''This is a magnificent and gory work'' Daily Mail

''The historical blockbuster of the year'' Evening Standard

‘If Bernard Cornwell was born to write one book, this is it. No other historical novelist has acquired such a mastery of the minutiae of warfare in centuries past’ Daily Telegraph

‘A runaway success’ Observer

Praise for Bernard Cornwell:

‘The characterisation, as ever, is excellent…And one can only admire the little touches that bring the period to life. He can also claim to be a true poet of both the horror and the glory of war’ Sunday Telegraph

This is typical Cornwell, meticulously researched, massive in scope, brilliant in execution’ News of the World

‘He’s called a master story-teller. Really he’s cleverer than that’ Telegraph


Biographical note

Bernard Cornwell was born in London, raised in Essex, and now lives mainly in the USA with his wife. In addition to the hugely successful Sharpe novels, Bernard Cornwell is the author of Azincourt, The Fort, the Starbuck Chronicles, the Warlord trilogy, the Grail Quest series and his current series, the Warrior Chronicles.


Feature

• The legend of King Alfred is one that will inspire readers around the world and Cornwell’s retelling is sure to become the definitive version for a generation of readers

• Perfect for readers of AZINCOURT, this novel packs in huge history, tortured heroes and uncovers what legends are truly made of

• With his extensive historical knowledge and experience as a BBC broadcaster, Bernard is set to become the definitive historical commentator of his generation

Competition: dunstan;emperor;imperium;cicero;Empire;pillars of the earth;column of fire;Kingsbridge;darien;shardlake;falcon;sparta;lancelot. by Wilbur Smith;Iggulden;Lee Child;Simon Scarrow;Ken Follett;patrick o’brian;c.s.;cs forester;c.j.;cj sansom;robert harris;Cornwall;George r r martin;robert harris;lee child.


More Information
Date Of Publication May 24, 2012
EAN 9780007331802
Contributors Cornwell, Bernard
Publisher Harpercollins
Languages English
Country of Publication United Kingdom
Width 129 mm
Height 198 mm
Thickness 25 mm
Product Forms Paperback / Softback
Availability in Stores Sin El-Fil, ABC Dbayeh, Metro Mall, Hamra, ABC Verdun, Tripoli Square, Global
Weight 0.280000
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
We found other products you might like!