The Distance Between Me And The Cherry Tree

By (author) Peretti, Paola
Ships between 2 and 4 days
By (author) Peretti, Paola; Translated by Muir Denise
Short description/annotation
A novel for all ages about a young girl losing her sight, inspired by the author''s own life story. For fans of Wonder, The Little Prince and The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly Mafalda is a nine-year-old girl who knows one thing: some time in the next six months her sight will fail completely.
Description
''A simply told, bitter-sweet story, with a powerful poetic message'' - Jacqueline Wilson Nominated for the CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019 and the IBBY Honour List 2020. A novel for all ages about a young girl losing her sight, inspired by the author''s own life story. For fans of Wonder, The Little Prince and The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly Mafalda is a nine-year-old girl who knows one thing: some time in the next six months her sight will fail completely. Can Mafalda find a way through a seemingly dark future and still go to school, play football and look after her beloved cat? With the help of her family, and her friends, Mafalda needs to discover the things that will be important to her when her sight has failed. A moving, empowering tale of courage and determination that will inspire young and old.
Review quote
A simply told, bitter-sweet story, with a powerful poetic message
Review quote
This beautiful book is a must-read for any family that has recently received a diagnosis of sight loss. It''s a modern-day fable that will help adults and children, friends and family understand and come to terms with life-changing health issues
Review quote
Must Read
Review quote
A captivating, wise and highly visual children''s novel
Review quote
No matter what age, readers are bound to tear up at this beautifully written novel... Whether you are looking for a book to read together, something to recommend to a child, or a short novel that offers a unique perspective, Mafalda''s story will stay with you long after you have finished reading it
Review quote
Tender and thought-provoking, with a powerful but unforced message
Review quote
This little gem of book is for everyone - children and adults. It''s a beautiful and inspiring story of overcoming fear and adversity.
Review quote
This lyrically written, moving book makes you think about what is truly important. A little gem
Review quote
A beautifully written, poignant tale of a little girl''s courageous struggle
Review quote
A mystical, semi-autobiographical novel about a girl who is going blind. Well developed characters, including the boy who becomes her friend. Poignant, moving
Biographical note
Paola Peretti (Author) Paola Peretti is Italian and was born in the province of Verona, where she still lives today. She studied literature and philosophy and graduated in publishing and journalism in 2011 with a thesis on gender discrimination in literature. Between 2015 and 2016 she attended the Palomar School of creative writing in Rovigo. During and after her studies she worked as a waitress, bartender, baby sitter and teacher, while writing articles for the local newspaper. Fifteen years ago, she discovered that she was affected by a rare genetic illness called Stargadt Disease which causes progressive vision loss, and eventually blindness. There is no cure to date. She is currently teaching Italian to immigrant children from Senegal, Nigeria, China, Romania, India, Pakistan, Brazil, Moldova and Russia. The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree is her first novel. Denise Muir (Translator) Denise Muir has been translating from Italian to English since1998 and in 2014 published her first short story translation. Sincethen she has published picture and educational books with Italianpublishers, championed Italian children''s novels and publisheda YA novel with Barrington Stoke''s B
More Information
Author By (author) Peretti, Paola
Date Of Publication Aug 9, 2018
EAN 9781471407550
Contributors Peretti, Paola; Muir Denise
Publisher Hot Key Books
Languages English
Country of Publication United Kingdom
Width 129 mm
Height 198 mm
Thickness 12 mm
Product Forms Paperback / Softback
Audience Age From 6 to 8, From 9 to 12
Availability in Stores Sin El-Fil, Metro Mall, Global
Weight 0.157000
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
We found other products you might like!